Location Blocking
Refocus supports location blocking so your blocks only activate at the location you pick — like home, work or the gym.
FAQ
Why is “Always” location access required?
Refocus requires “Always” access and “Background App Refresh” enabled so blocking can automatically activate without opening Refocus.
What location data does Refocus collect?
Refocus only saves the location you explicitly selected as part of your blocking session (latitude, longitude and radius). Your current location is never stored and is only used to determine whether you entered or exited the selected area.
Why is my location not activating?
Location blocking may be delayed. You must be ~200m inside the radius for an extended duration (ex. 3 - 5 minutes). That being said, most of the time it should work within 20 seconds if you are far enough inside the selected area.
Recommendation: select the largest radius possible as that will increase accuracy.
Ensure Refocus has “Always” location access (via Apple “Settings” app for “Refocus”).
Ensure Refocus has “Precise Location” location access (via Apple “Settings” app for “Refocus”).
Ensure Refocus has “Background App Refresh” on (via Apple “Settings” app for “Refocus”).
Why is “Inverse Radius” useful with Strict Modes?
Inverse Radius allows blocking to work even if you manage to disable location permissions. If you don’t have location permissions enabled, and you were not already in the unselected area, blocking will not stop.